The thing I've found most valuable about Frog3 is the task setting/marking. Over 7 years this has totally changed the way I work. All my marking is now done on Frog.
We are now moving to Frog Learn. It looks so much better, and has the lovely mark book.
Yet I can’t get my head around the workflow.
I set a task, with a deadline in say a week, longer if it is a major piece of work. Many students submit early. I mark their work promptly. They get to see my comment but NOT my mark. Why not? On the old platform these early submitters, dissatisfied with their mark and/or taking on board my comment, often messaged asking for a chance to resubmit. Great learning.
Even more bizarre: task closing. Once a task closes you can’t mark it! Surely closing a task should stop students submitting, but not teachers from marking. This is a fundamental error. Ok, I can get around this by NOT closing the task but then what was the point in the task having an auto-close date at all? I can’t see the ‘window’ in which teachers are supposed to mark!
Sometimes work submitted is inadequate and I return it, with a comment and a demand to re-do. But once the task is closed there is no opportunity for students to resubmit. I have to re-open the task for all. On the old platform I could close a task (‘force handin’) then return work to individuals as required. I can’t see how to do that now.
It is quite possible that these annoyances are because there is something I’ve failed to appreciate. If so, please enlighten me!